Aave Labs Acquires Avon Team and Technology to Expand Fixed-Rate Onchain Lending
Key Takeaways
- •Aave Labs acquired the Avon team and technology on November 6, 2026, including fixed-rate and floating-rate lending protocols, an onchain order book, domains, and related assets.
- •Avon's Prince Sinha and Ayush Kaul are joining Aave Labs' engineering organization, while Omar el-Ashaal joins in business development, and the group will continue building the Avon stack in-house.
- •Neither party disclosed financial terms, and the announcement did not specify a purchase price, equity mix, earn-out structure, or a launch date for fixed-rate products.
- •The Avon deal is Aave Labs' second talent-and-technology tuck-in in about a year, following the Stable Finance acquisition on October 23, 2025.
- •Aave cited more than $33 billion in deposits and more than $13 billion in active loans across Ethereum and other networks, but analysts note the fixed-rate thesis still requires a public ship date and live fixed-rate volume to be proven.

Aave Labs announced on November 6, 2026 that it has acquired the Avon team and technology, bringing in-house a stack that already prices both fixed-rate and floating-rate credit onchain. The transaction covers fixed-rate and floating-rate lending protocols, an onchain order book, domains, and related assets, according to an official announcement on the Aave blog.
In most onchain money markets, borrowing and lending rates float with pool utilization. Fixed-rate lending instead locks a rate for the life of a position, and an order book matches lenders and borrowers directly at agreed terms — mechanics long standard in traditional fixed-income markets.
As part of the deal, Prince Sinha and Ayush Kaul are joining Aave Labs' engineering organization, while Omar el-Ashaal joins in business development. The group will continue building the Avon stack inside Aave Labs.
Neither party disclosed the financial terms of the transaction. The announcement did not specify a purchase price, equity mix, or earn-out structure, and it did not include a launch date for fixed-rate products.
In the announcement, Aave cited more than $33 billion in deposits and more than $13 billion in active loans across Ethereum and other networks. Stani Kulechov described fixed rates as products users already expect, while Sinha said Aave is where that credit work can reach scale.
Second Tuck-In Follows Stable Finance by a Year
The Avon deal arrives roughly twelve months after Aave Labs' Stable Finance acquisition on October 23, 2025, which folded a consumer stablecoin-savings team into Labs. Avon adds rate-market and order-book engineering on the credit side of the stack. Live Bitcoin News characterized the two transactions — both disclosed talent-and-technology tuck-ins within about a year — as a sign that Aave is buying missing product capability rather than starting a greenfield build.
According to the report, Aave needed fixed-rate credibility without a multi-year internal development detour, while Avon needed distribution into a network with existing deposits, loans, and fintech partners. The publication noted that Aave retains the scarcer asset: live liquidity and brand reach.
No Live Product Yet, Terms Undisclosed
Live Bitcoin News applied what it called a "webinar test": there is no joint webinar and no named fixed-rate product live for users today. What transferred is the team, the protocols, and the order book, which Aave Labs says will continue to be developed in-house. The publication scored the deal as a genuine technology-and-talent close, but one that fails as a finished mainstream rate product.
The report also observed that the release promotes the technology to institutions, fintechs, and everyday users while omitting a purchase price, a vesting schedule, and a shipping window. It argued that fixed-rate onchain lending must still clear liquidity, risk isolation, and borrower demand, and that acquiring Avon moves the engineering clock forward without resolving those market tests.
The outlet offered several observations for market participants: founders building credit markets should expect deposit-scale incumbents to keep acquiring specialist rate teams and should measure their edge in shipped fixed-rate volume and risk design rather than in "bringing credit onchain" pitches; operators competing with Aave should assume fixed-rate products will appear on Aave's roadmap with Avon technology and should differentiate on rate clarity, risk isolation, and borrower experience; and investors should separate acquisition announcements from protocol revenue, since an undisclosed price and the absence of a launch date support underwriting intent and headcount rather than a dated product milestone.
The publication said the mainstream fixed-rate thesis would need two proofs to land: Aave naming a public ship date, and live fixed-rate borrow or lend volume on a named Aave surface. Without those, the deal remains, in its words, "capacity bought, product unproven."
More broadly, the report concluded that when a scaled DeFi lender acquires a specialist rate team and an order-book stack, the close should be scored as engineering acceleration, and that product proof begins only when fixed rates clear live volume — not when a press release names institutions as the target audience.